“What does the other guy look like?”

“What does the other guy look like?” is a question I have been asked over the last few days.  It always takes me by surprise.  Although I do get some pleasure watching people try to hide their disappointment in my answer.  Don’t worry I didn’t break my face again.

I didn't punch anyone, I promise.

I didn’t punch anyone, I promise.

This was taken the day of the incident, today the wounds have scabbed over nicely and are a nice dark red.  But I think if I’d punched someone the wounds would be on or closer to my knuckles.  Anyway no fighting for this girl and I have no idea how this happened, but it happened at the same time as this;

Road rash

Road rash

Road rash and a bruise, how lucky can a girl get?!

Road rash and a bruise, how lucky can a girl get?!

Again these pics were taken last Friday (5 days ago), somehow the wounds look worse now, but I’m too lazy to take any new pictures (it’s just too sad for me).  So obviously I didn’t get these marks from being in a fight, nope, graceful being that I am, I fell. On pavement.  While running sort of fast.  At kilometer 14 of a 38km run I hit the deck hard.  Of course there were witnesses, nobody laughed, at least not to my face.  I still have no idea what happened, one minute I was chugging along enjoying my run and the next I was looking up at the sky.  The lady whose car I fell next to just happened to be getting ready to vacate her parking space, I think I scared her a little, she came rushing over offering to call 911.  That freaked me out because I actually felt okay but she thought I needed an ambulance, was there something wrong that I couldn’t see?  I did a quick check and decided that I did not need an ambulance and asked her to hold off.  I used the fire hydrant that I was beside me to pull myself up (I guess I was lucky I didn’t somehow impale myself on that), had the full on “Bambi legs” thing going on but managed to get myself to a small retaining wall at the end of someone’s yard.  There I sat and decided that I was in fact okay just a little shaken up.  With that, the Good Samaritan left (I think she really wanted to call 911) and I set about cleaning myself up.  I wasn’t a Girl Guide for long but I do like their motto “be prepared”, so I always run with some wet wipes in my pack and a small tub of vaseline.  With that I wiped up the blood and all the other crud that gets on you when you roll around on the sidewalk, then dabbed with the vaseline to stem the bleeding and tried to decide what to do.  I also always carry a transit token with me and realised that if I walk about 300m I’d be at a bus stop that would get me to the subway and take me home, but it was so nice out, and I still had 24km to run, and it was so sunny, a perfect long run day.

So I did what any sane and rational person would do and walked to the bus stop, but I couldn’t see a bus coming.  So then I decided I would run to the nearest subway station but gently. By the time I got there I was feeling pretty good, so I finished my run.  Did I mention it was really nice out?

 

5 comments on ““What does the other guy look like?”

  1. Mom says:

    Good job on finishing the run…it was a great way to avoid all the stares you would have gotten on the bus!
    Hope you are healing nicely and remember the 1st rule of running…upright and smiling!

  2. Ann & Gaz says:

    Good lord H ! you certainly put everything in to your falling ! am very impressed that you finished your run – you are one tough cookie – did i mention that your sanity will be in question with nanna Maureen again ????

Leave a Reply

