Mogollon Monster Week 16 (Yikes!)

Heather 

This week wasn’t too bad.  Didn’t manage to get any weights in but I did do some quality stretching and got my runs in.  Actually my only run I cut short was my long one and I don’t think I was in the wrong.

Always a good view while eating my breakfast at the cottage.

I was supposed to do 38km, and it turned out to be one of the hottest days of summer yet, thank you humidex!  I was at the cottage so I decided to run to the Batawa Ski hill, where we ran the Fat-Ass Trail race last year.

What the ski hill would look like in winter, I guess.

I thought it would be a good “race simulation” run (without actual mountains this is a little tricky for me).  My run to the ski hill was boring as I stuck to the road, unfortunately for me there had been a bear sighting at the cottage the weekend before and my Dad didn’t want me on the trails by myself, of course as I was running around the completely unpopulated ski area it occurred to me that this would be an ideal place for a bear attack and got myself jumping at every little noise in the woods (thanks Dad).

I took a little break once reaching the hills, at the exploration trail and/or the dino dig.

Not a bear print, so I figured I was safe.

This is Walter, you can dig him up. I chose to use the bathroom instead.

Dan met me 3 hours into my run with some much needed ice water and some motivation because quite frankly I was ready to jump in the car and go home.  So I grinded out 33km on hilly technical terrain.  Blah, thankfully I got to have a nice swim when we did finally get back to the cottage.

This picture doesn’t do justice to this hill, that I would run up 5 times!!!

View from the top. I wish this picture could somehow show how hot it was.

Planned Mileage: 82km
Actual Mileage:
Days Run:  4 (two of which included some serious hill work)
Excuses:  It was hot and couldn’t bare the idea of being roasted out in the field portion of my long run again (it was a looping course), but I’m not sorry about it at all.

3 comments on “Mogollon Monster Week 16 (Yikes!)

  1. Mom says:

    I am totally in awe that you could run so far in that heat. The temperature makes up for the very short distance you missed in your training and we won’t discuss the beer mile. You rock!
    xoxoxo

  2. Ann & Gaz says:

    You always stun us with your commitment ! keep on running girl – you are amazing !
    xxxxx

  3. John Cliff says:

    What is that three toed footprint supposed to be of? I saw two very similar to that in the woods of North Idaho and have never been able to find any references to anything like it.

Leave a Reply

