10 more weeks to get it right.

Heather

So let’s just get this out of the way…

Planned Mileage: 67km

Actual Mileage:

Days Run: 4

Excuses: I suck.

Once again I’ve missed my mileage target.  Looking back I’ve only managed to hit it 3 times in the past 14 weeks and now my race is 10 weeks away and I’m freaking out.  I’m clearly not prepared and have once again set myself up for failure.  I have 10 weeks (actually less than) to get my butt in gear if I’m going to have any chance of completing the Mogollon Monster 100.

In other news, we are now the owners of the domain raceinpieces.com (no more .wordpress.).  Not really sure what that means for us other than our web address is now shorter and easier to remember and may make appearances on our gear.

In other other news, Dan has turned into a mad scientist trying to figure out his race nutrition.  He has had some stomach issues in the past, so he’s been doing a great deal of research on the topic and trying some new products.

There have been books arriving in the mail frequently, I’m told more are on their way.

I like the colour but not the taste.

It’s called Vitargo, it’s a super starch.  I kind of tune out to the rest of the info Dan gives me.

It’s soupy, but it’s “the best carbohydrate in the world”.

I’m not sold at this point, but it seems to be working for Dan. I like that the container says “If you don’t train, don’t take this product.”

I’m more a fan of “real” food.

Homemade Muesli Bars, yummy!

Especially after seeing this:

On our run this morning Dan managed to get Vitargo in his eye, it didn’t seem pleasant.  (He is washing it out with water here, not actually putting the Vitargo in his eye!)  He also got it up his nose, it seems like a dangerous product.

6 comments on “10 more weeks to get it right.

  1. Ann & Gaz says:

    hum – i definately like the look of your home made muesli ! and tell Dan that i am not laughing at him managing to get Vitargo in his eye and up his nose – honest ! seriously H am sure that you will finish the Mogollon Monster, Just stay positive and keep on training xxxxx

  2. I’m sure you’ll have no problem finishing the Mogollon Monster — its not as if you haven’t been training, you’ve just missed your goal. No biggie. Your body knows you can do it, you just need to believe it . . . and keep on running! Good luck!

  3. Mom says:

    H remember the ant and the rubber tree plant…he had high hopes and so do you, if the ant can do it so can you. If you need a reminder just let me know. Stop the negative talk, it does not help. Listen to PDX Running Chick and ‘Believe’!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

