Oh Dear, Oh Deer.

Heather

Saturday I met up with Dan and Geoff (from the goose incident) part way through my long run for some company, but they turned out to be bad company.  Both were tired and our route wasn’t the very pretty, add to that the heat and we had three grumpy runners.  Geoff finally broached the idea of cutting our run short, Dan agreed, I was going to trudge on.  We had a short stop at a water fountain and cooled down and when we started running again Dan and Geoff took off, I hoped they’d at least wave goodbye to me and then I started to hope that they we’re feeling revived and would finish the run with me when Geoff suddenly tripped on a tree root and went down.  I was pretty impressed with his roll and he was back on his feet by the time I caught up.  He said he thought he’d cut his leg, and I thought he was being a wuss, but when he washed the dirt off his leg, his knee just started gushing blood.  Oh dear.  I had a couple of band aids in my pack, but not the kind that would help that.  Thankfully we were close a road where there happened to be a gas station, I ran ahead and raided their first aid kit, we bandaged Geoff up enough to get him home, where he then had to sit at the hospital for a few hours to get some stitches.  Good news is that it’s just a superficial wound, and the doctor who stitched him up is also a runner and told him he’d be fine to race this weekend!  (The three of us are running the Creemore Vertical Challenge 50km, sounds fun doesn’t it?!)

Sunday my run took place at the cottage, I love running at the cottage, Dan not so much, so I headed out Sunday on my own.  I had every intention of doing a couple of hill repeats on a tough hill called Deer Run (1km long with 63m/205ft elevation), but that plan went out the window as I ascended the first time and was swarmed by deer flies.  It was horrible, there was no way I was willingly heading back down and back up again!  By the time I reached the top I had a few bites and then had to out run the pack of flies that seemed to follow me for a while.  The rest of the run was uneventful, I managed to avoid the hogweed and get home safely, but heat sucked the life out of me and the rest of the day was spent lounging in the sun reading my book.  (Poor me.)

This “road” is not recommended for vehicles.

Trust me it’s steep.

I’m not going back!

View from the top (finally).

Planned mileage: 80km

Actual Mileage:

Days run: 4

Excuses:  This week’s training was interesting.  I was tired from the Niagara Ultra and had a massage Monday, which meant I really didn’t feel like running Tuesday, so I didn’t.  To make up for it I tried to cram my runs into fewer days and didn’t quite make the cut.

7 comments on “Oh Dear, Oh Deer.

  1. Dan says:

    Luckily it was only a only a slap on the wrist for Geoff from the trail God’s, next time no talk about cutting runs short!!!

    • Geoff says:

      yup, I deserved it!!!! wish i let you take a pic now… i miss that old open wound. it just doesnt look the same all stitched up!

      • raceinpieces says:

        I’m kind of glad you didn’t let me take a picture! I think it would’ve grossed some of our readers out! You’re a trouper Geoff.

  2. Mom says:

    Do not worry H hill training counts for more and well being attacked by deer flies well i do not think they have finished the studies on that one! Being a first aider counts for something too, you should always be helpful. So that makes up for the 6 km. Have a great week.
    xoxoxo

  3. Ann & Gaz says:

    just read race details for this weekends run – am glad to see that it states ” almost no cliffs ” !
    plus mad river massage available for all – think that i would be in need of a darn sight more than that if i was attempting that race ! – have a great run and enjoy it both of you – dont forget that you have to save some juice in the engine for the week after – you crazy pair ! xxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

