Pirates of the Spit

Heather

Saturday was long run day and our friend Geoff joined us for a 30km.  Dan designed the route and much to my surprise  he made it very flat and took us out along the Tommy Thompson Park, aka “the spit”.  The “spit” has not been kind to Dan, he ran a super hot 10 mile race out there, a super humid 15km race along there and one terrible, freezing training run.

Dan as tall as the CN Tower

So as we set out things looked promising, it wasn’t freezing and it wasn’t too hot, it was actually pretty great running conditions.  Things were ticking along nicely and then something happened just about half way.

That's some excitement! (This is a screen shot of my heart rate)

It was scary, hence the jump in heart rate.  So what could have possibly been so frightening?

Well we were just passed the turn around path and on our way to the point to run around the lighthouse when we were attacked…by a very aggressive Canadian Goose.

Do I really need to describe how scary this is?

On approach we could tell the Goose was pretty agitated and Geoff suggested that we divide and run around the Goose, in hopes of confusing it.   Geoff and I went right, Dan went left, the Goose went straight at Geoff and me.  I, of course, screamed like a girl, which scared Geoff causing him to scream obscenities.  I stopped dead in my tracks, as did Geoff with the squawking, nipping Goose RIGHT in front of us.  Dan had kicked into survival mode and sprinted the heck away from us and was now laughing at us.  His suggestion was to just run the Goose wasn’t going to do anything.*

So Geoff and I bravely counted to three and took off running when I turned to see if it was following us, I screamed once again because I was looking the Goose in the eyes as it was flying at our heads!  I  jumped into the bushes beside us and the Goose flew by and landed nipping at Geoff’s heels.  At this point I opted to back away while keeping the Goose in clear sight.  Geoff had made it to Dan and they backed away slowly toward the lighthouse, I told them I’d meet them at the turn off.  If they made it past that freakin’ Goose again!

I used my alone time wisely and back tracked to a porta potty (while warning everyone of the aggressive Goose they were about to run/cycle into to).  Timing was perfect as we both got to the turn around at the same time.  The boys were grinning so I asked what was up?  Did they meet the Goose again?

Yes, they had met the Goose again and yes it was still angry, so they bush-wacked around it, but the reason for the grins was that Dan found some money, lunch money!  That’s right Dan actually found $80 bucks.  All I could think was that some poor runner or cyclist lost their money trying to avoid being killed by a crazy Goose.  And it did beg the question, why was that person carrying so much cash, I mean we carry a few bucks for emergencies, such as water or freezie pops, but $80 and not making sure it was secure?

Geoff thinks we should be running faster

Not the aggressive goose, I didn't stick around to get a photo of that one!

No one realised how much danger we were really in.

Dan with his found riches

We carried on happily knowing that our bellies would be filled after our run.  Unfortunately for me the flatness of the course was killing my legs by time we were finally heading home I was thankful that it was uphill, but we got stopped at every stoplight so the last 3km were a total grind.  But the free lunch was calling us and we made it home to get cleaned up and hit the pub.

Dan spent his found riches treating us to lunch.

*I also took the time to learn about Canadian Geese attacks:

Thank you ehow.com!

I broke rule number 5,6,7,8,9 but I did finally realise number 10 on my own.

4 comments on “Pirates of the Spit

  1. Ann & Gaz says:

    pretty impressive photo of attacking goose ! will try to remember all the advice that you managed to find out if i ever come across such a vicious creature! glad you managed to escape – Dan has always been a jammy money finder !

  2. Mom says:

    I guess the goose had lost one too many games of duck, duck goose…not this time! But who knew there were so many rules to dealing with a goose. I will remember to keep eye contact and back away from the goose. Happy running!

Leave a Reply

