Safety First

Heather

Since Dan and I are not training for the same goal races this year, we will be doing quite a few runs (or parts of) on our own.  As our training runs ramp up and we are out for 3+hours we thought it best to invest in those Road ID things.
After visiting the website we discovered that it was very simple and cheap to get a little tag for yourself with important info like emergency names and numbers (my poor Mommy is on both of them) and space for important medical information such as medication allergies.
Of course if you’re perfectly healthy you end up with some empty space on your ID but you pay the same price whether you fill it or not, so the Road ID people helpfully recommend that you use any extra space on you ID for a motivational saying.
Dan is lucky enough not have medical issues so he had two free lines on his ID where he decided to put his favorite saying:
“Pain is weakness leaving the body”
In retrospect that probably wasn’t the wisest thing to put on an emergency ID bracelet.  I mean if something were to happen to Dan and some cheeky person (like me) were to find him, I’d look at him lying there and think “well look at all that weakness leaving his body, maybe I should wait to call an ambulance”.*
I’m not perfectly healthy and have a couple of medication allergies including one with a particularly long name.  I didn’t have much room left on my ID.  I wanted “I’m kind of a big deal” because that’s a running (haha) joke shared between me and my family and it makes me smile when I think about how it all came about, but that didn’t fit.  So I have:
“Kind of a big deal”
By having to drop the possessive my saying no longer sounds self-absorbed, but more “This person’s a big deal and you should call 911 right away”.
At least that’s what I’m hoping.
* Please note that I would call 911 before making fun of finding someone in need of help.

If found, please call!

6 comments on “Safety First

  1. Mom says:

    You are a ‘Big Deal”! I am so proud of you for realizing the need for the bracelet’s. Please remember to wear them and I hope you never need to use them.

    P.S. I will respond. xoxo

  2. Heather says:

    My son Mark just got his bracelet as well. He runs and does a lot of cycling. I am his contact even though his is married and has two daughters. I guess he thinks his Mom could handle a call if she ever got one. I appreciate his confidence in me. Your mom is correct Heather, “our kids are a big deal” and I am proud of Mark for getting the bracelet. I have been after him for years about i.d. when he is running/cycling. I agree also with your mom that we hope our kids NEVER need to use them. Keep up the good work!!!

  3. Ann & Gaz says:

    I’m proud of you both too – wish i was near enough to be of some use – but i know you would be in safe hands with your mom

    • raceinpieces says:

      Ann you would’ve been on the ID except your phone number has too many digits!!! But I have lofty ideas about European races that you can crew at, that’s even better than being an emergency contact!

Leave a Reply

