A Mid Summer’s Night Run

Heather

This race was supposed to be a reunion of the group of us that ran the sporting life 10km, so even though it was only 3 weeks after the Canadian Death Race we had agreed to participate, and I’m glad we did.

I’ve never run a mid summer’s night run before but had only heard positive things.  As the name would suggest it’s run in the evening (with most of us finishing at dusk or in the dark) and you can choose from 30km or 15km.  It’s Shakespearean themed as well with this years slogan “My legs keep no pace with my desire”.  Lot’s of racers dress up as fairies and well I’m not sure what some things were supposed to be, but they were very creative and I admire their ability to run in anything that isn’t dry fit!   I ran the 15km and I’m glad for it because my legs are only now feeling ok. Every run post CDR whether hilly or not have left my quads screaming. I’m happy to report that this race did not have that effect 🙂
Now I should explain that I’ve never really ‘raced’ I’m that runner who just wants to complete or I set a goal that I know I will achieve.  After suffering my first DQ, I’ve realised that failure is not a bad thing, it’s only bad if you don’t learn from it, and I want to keep learning.  So for once in my life I had a race plan, I wanted to run 5:40 min/km and I wanted my last 5km to be progressively faster.

The day was hot and sunny but by the time we arrived at the start line it was overcast and threatening rain with a possible thunder-storm forecasted, it was still hot and humid.  At 6:45pm 1300 of us set off, I think for the first time ever I seeded myself correctly.  I usually put myself too far back and spend 3 or 4km getting around people, except for one time when I started way too close to the start of a half marathon and was swept along for the first 2km.  Anyway starting with other people who are running your pace is great, there were still a few people who you had to go around and those who flew past but I was happy when Miles, my garmin beeped at 1km and 5:46 flashed across the screen. Not bad.  The race is an out and back on “the spit” which is actually called Tommy Thompson park.  By 3km we were in the park and I was cruising. I felt great.
Km 2= 5:34
Km 3=5:39
Km 4=5:44
Km 5=5:39
Perfect(ish).  I wanted to be about 28 mins for the first 5km and I still felt surprisingly good.  All around me people were starting to labour, lots of panting noises but I was still happily breathing through my nose, hmm should I have set myself a tougher goal? Nah with 10km still go I should’ve still been in good shape.
Km 6=5:40 (ooh bang on)
Km 7=5:45 (I’ll blame the little bottle neck at the turn around)
Km 8=5:41
Km 9=5:38
Km 10=5:39
Once again I was pleased. Not only was I actually managing to follow my race plan but I still felt good.  At this point I started to pass a lot of people as I increased my speed, mostly people who had gone out too fast or people who had trained up to 10km and figured how much harder can it be to run another 5km? (Harder than many think). I was entertained by a couple of fairies trying to pass a man who would just speed up, I believe I giggled which only encouraged the one fairy (who had lots left in the tank) to sprint pass said man, then slow down let him pass only to sprint past again. It was funny to me not so much for the man who didn’t want fairies passing him.  But I reminded myself to focus and that I was supposed to be running faster.
Km 11=5:34
Km 12=5:31
Km 13=5:30
Km 14= 5:17
Km 15= 4:46 (What! Didn’t know I had that speed!)
When I passed the 13km sign leaving the park I just went for broke, I felt great and I knew I could run 2km hard.
I finished in 1:23:44, that’s an average of 5:34 min/km (I guess I could’ve set a slighter tougher pace).  I felt awesome I got my medal and free food, stretched and waited for my Mommy and friend Rochelle to finish.  Dan had run with the 1:20 pace group and he had looked good when we passed each other near the turn around (he finished in 1:19:30 and was the only one left in the pace group).

My Mommy did a beautiful job, she never sets goals (other than to complete) either, so I set one for her on the cab ride to the start, 1:45. Never one to back down from a challenge Mommy made sure to start in front of the 1:45 pace group. She stayed ahead of them for most of the race but just near the end they “arrived” she tried to stay with them but she eventually just ended up chasing them, good thing too as she crossed in 1:44:49, top third of her age group!  I have to say I was one very proud daughter.  Rochelle also did really well finishing in 1:36 and has decided to run the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half Marathon!! 

What a succesful race.  For those of you who remember the Sporting Life race report you may have noticed that two members of our ‘crew’ were missing, that’s because little sister and little sister’s boyfriend were too busy getting engaged!!!  We’ll let it slide this time, no excuses for the next one though!

Enjoy a post race beverage. The after event was on a ball diamond, not the most flattering lighting.

Mom looking tired but happy.

Dan looks a little sad but that is because the beers were a little small for his liking.

6 comments on “A Mid Summer’s Night Run

  1. Alison says:

    Not sure how happy mommy is going to be that you posted that photo of her!!

  2. seelolirun says:

    What’s a DQ? Sorry for the silly question . . .

    • raceinpieces says:

      Not a silly question. I was technically disqualified from the Death Race since I did not meet the cut-off time. It sounds better than a DNF (did not finish), and I really did want to finish but I did not meet the timing standard so I was DQ’d.

  3. sarah says:

    Lovely job. I ran the 30km for the mid summers night run! it was a great race!

  4. Dawn Kuz says:

    Awesome! You guys rock! Good pace Heather… And sprinting at the end! I will have to try for that my next race. I’ve totally slacked off but have a couple races coming up in September so better get back at er. Talk soon!!

Leave a Reply

