Spit or Swallow

Chomping my way into the Chomps

Dan

Minds out if the gutter you filthy lot, this is obviously a posting about running food. Honestly just because a guy makes the odd reference to bodily functions…

So far we have only tried adding running foods into our training. Soon we will be adding everyday foods into the mix (I am really hoping for cold pizza to be a hit). For now here is the best and worst of what we have tried.

Disclaimer: Opinions stated below are those of Race In Pieces, if you don’t like them or disagree, tough it is our blog not yours. In all seriousness if you do have input would love to hear it.

Before we start I am probably going to be too lazy to list the nutritional info of all the products I talk about. Instead where possible I have included links to the companies’ websites. So click on the colourful words, go on you know you want to.

This running business can get expensive so whenever so there’s an opportunity to save a buck or two it is eagerly welcomed. I’ve tried all manner of sports drink and they all taste equally unexciting. So when I spotted Presidents Choice Power Quencher figured it had to be worth a try (bias warning – Loblaw’s helps keep me gainfully employed Monday to Friday). It comes in the same basic flavors as the national brands, and tastes just as good. Though why do any of them make Red flavor? Really who likes red?

Verdict: Big swallow

Next up is Powerbar Protein Bites, I tried the chocolate brownie flavor. As far as taste goes I really quite liked them, kind of like the cheap truffles your aunt might re-gift you at Christmas. Unfortunately given the impressively contradictory combination of chewy and dry it would seem that Aunt Mildred had them knocking around for a few years before they landed under the Christmas tree. With a glass of milk as a recovery food they would be pretty good, but as an on the go fuel they are a non-start. Well not unless you like chewy dry balls, and that’s cool I’m not judging.

Verdict: Reluctant spit

And I'm in!

Vega brand products. These little gems appeared a couple of weeks ago in my blog so you can probably guess how this is going to go. Mildly masticated, the energy bar as you will remember looked like goose poop, and why only mildly masticated? Because I think its doppelgänger may taste better, if not better at least the vile flavor would justified, its poo. I am a recovering vegetarian, after more than a decade of tofu induced madness I finally got my self straight 6 or so years ago, since that point my life has been a cornucopia of raw and rare meats. However my stint in the anti-meat world has given me the insight to draw the only possible conclusion for this assault on taste. This is some sort of inside joke the herbivores are having at our expense, the vegan makers of this product have to be pulling our legs. Very funny you made me eat poop and drink a sport drink that looked like pond water that not even Les Stroud would go near, but did you have to make so expensive?  That is just cruel. I’m onto you, you sneaky carrot killers

Verdict: Spit for the love of God spit.

Larabars have become a staple on our long runs. All natural ingredients, tasty and because they are unbaked they retain not only all the goodness but also the moistness. See Vega natural doesn’t have to be a practical joke. The peanut butter bar is a little dryer than the others but still tasty.

Verdict: Swallow, I would even eat these for fun.

Heather:  These bars are so good.  I like to imagine each one being made by hand by the beautiful Lara herself.  Adding just the right amount of love and best wishes in each bar!

GU products, a couple of these make it into the pack. Heather is a traditionalist and likes the gel shots, for me it’s their chomps. I have tried the gels a few times mixed with water and they just don’t taste good, plus Heather seems to expend as much energy as they provide shaking the bottle trying to mix it. I think it would be better to just suck it down, but after it has been bouncing around in my sack I don’t know that I want swallow warm GU. Chomps on the other hand are like jube jubes with attitude; I especially like the ones with added caffeine.

Verdict: Chomp on the chomps and spit the Shots.

An honorable mention to carb Boom! shots, similar to GU except all natural, only tried the one flavor so far but it is very promising.

That’s it for the food for now.

4 comments on “Spit or Swallow

  1. mum & Gaz says:

    my mind is reeling – its a complicated business ! mind you thoughts of dry chewy balls keep reminding me of nana asking the ice cream man if he had chewy balls ! for the uninitiated they were ice cream cone with a chewing gum ball at the base – my brother, as a child loved them that tale went down in family history !!
    keep up the good work !

  2. Mom says:

    After our run today you have to add the ‘Honey Stinger Waffel’s’ as a Swallow!!! They were delicious and I would happily enjoy one or even two with a nice cuppa.

  3. […] not just one to try a whole case! Getting off topic… the Stingers are a definite swallow by Dan’s standards.  They truly are awesome, so tasty, not dry and so light and easy to carry.  And thanks to my mom […]

  4. Al says:

    I agree! The Honey Stinger Waffles are fantastic!! The discs we have been using are good too! Not sure how filling they would be to you but I feel they add a nice bounce in mine and moms step!

Leave a Reply

