Date Night!

Heather

Tuesday’s have become date night for Dan and me, I don’t  mean the romantic kind, I’m talking about the kind where we agree that we will go to a hill and run up and down it until we are barely able to get home.

Ever since Dan nearly exploded running a (significant) hill during the Around the Bay

Here he comes!

race, I’ve been incessantly reminding that we are going to be running up and down mountains during the DeathRace.  Mountains.  Two of them, although somehow we summit three times.

I have to admit that I love hill training.  I always include it in any training for any race no matter the distance.  Dan on the other hand isn’t a fan.  He doesn’t really like the repetitiveness of it and I don’t think until recently he truly believed it would really make that much of a difference.   But since I’ve been blowing past him on the uphill(s) of our training runs and races, he’s willing to give it a try.  Something about me looking too happy and fresh at the top.

I think he was comforted though when he noticed last week after running multiple hills that I too am sucking wind and look a little worse for wear.

I’m happy that Dan is finally joining me on my weekly hill sessions and I know he will be too when he can make it to the top of a hill without worrying about any explosions!

He made it!!!!

4 comments on “Date Night!

  1. Mom says:

    Run Dan Run!

  2. mum & Gaz says:

    nice to see weather warmed up enough to wear shorts ! listen to H she can be your hill guru !

  3. Gary McGugan says:

    I sure don’t envy those hill training sessions. The spin classes must be easier … even if the music is bad. Keep up the great training!

Leave a Reply

