Learning My Strengths

Heather

So it turns out I’m not quite a gym bunny yet.  For the last two months I’ve been attempting to add some weight training into my otherwise running dominated workout schedule, things seemed to be going well, tonight though things got well, weird.  As we ran to the gym I realised that I hadn’t timed things well this evening and I was going to arrive in between class times (that’s right I only do the classes when I go to the gym) but never mind I figured would utilize some of the skills I’d learned in my class and use some of the free weights in the gym.  Dan started pestering about my ‘plan’ and I immediately questioned what I needed a plan for, Dan then pointed that I don’t run with out a plan so why would assume I could go to the gym without one?  I tuned him out, it’s just the gym.

I was off to a great start with some walking lunges, but then I just didn’t know what to do with myself. There were so many people using the stuff I wanted to use and staring intently at one another.  It was intimidating.  I tried to follow Dan and his training partner around but it took me too long to figure out the machines that I lost them quickly.  Thankfully I bumped into an old acquaintance and was able to chat with her for a while but Dan eventually spotted me and started laughing, I admitted defeat and left the gym (not feeling as pumped up as I usually do).   On the plus side I did discover on my run home (via the liquor store) that my new raincoat is fabulous!!!

 

5 comments on “Learning My Strengths

  1. mum & Gaz says:

    i dont like doing the gym without a plan – its even more boring! plus dont feel like i have worked on what i wanted to and i like to think ” am 2/3rds through……”

  2. Mom says:

    That’s exactly why I love my classes at the gym it’s ‘free weights and workouts for dummies’ the instructors do the thinking, inspire you and all you have to do is follow.

  3. Al says:

    I’m sure you without a plan would be far less irritating to watch at the gym than many others who “think” they know what they are doing!!

Leave a Reply

